Blight

Sorry for the month-long absence from the blog.  But I’m returning with exciting news.  The Council will be voting next Tuesday to issue Certificates of Obligation to fund the acquisition of the old Albertson’s building, and the shopping center adjacent to the South.  The Council toured the buildings (separately) today to judge whether the buildings were dangerous structures.  Wow.  The old Albertson’s building definitely has the three R’s: Rats, Roaches, and Rot. 

In the pictures below, you’ll find traces of termites and serious electrical fire risk

It’s of vital importance that we as citizen’s of Farmers Branch update our deteriorating and outdated infrastructure.  Next week’s vote could do just that.

Four Corners update    Sep 3, 2009

Wow – traces of termites. I have never found traces of termites in my home, but I know someone who did. He tells me that you don’t have to demolish the entire building to get rid of termites. Yes, that’s right:  there are companies who will actually come  to your home or building and do away with termites – they are called “Exterminators”. You can find them in the internet or yellow pages under “Pest Control”. And they don’t charge that much – even for a big building.

Maybe this could help Farmers... wait, they just like to SPEND money

Now that we have that problem solved let’s move on to the serious electrical fire risk. I can fix this one without even asking anyone, and I’ll let the City Council in on my secret. Off the top of my head, I can think of two very effective methods to rid an empty building of serious electrical fire risk. Take your pick:

  1. Electricity doesn’t just “grow” in the building – it’s supplied by the electric company. Call and tell them to turn off the power to the building. If, for some reason, that is too difficult, here is another method:
  2. Don’t pay the bill. Yeah – electric companies are funny that way. If you don’t pay the bill they will just go ahead and turn the electricity off without you having to do anything! Easy!

Note: If you don’t pay your electric bill and your electricity is not cut off please let me know. Electricity is expensive and if there is a company who doesn’t care if they are paid or not I want to change to that company. I’m always on the lookout for a bargain.

Whew – those two suggestions alone ought to put me in front of the competition for the ProActive Citizenship award.

The next highlighted item was the statement about  updating our deteriorating and outdated infrastructure. This stopped me cold for a minute, as I was not aware that the Albertson’s building was part of the city’s infrastructure.  I might be wrong, so I looked up that word and it’s just what I thought:

Infrastructure is the basic physical and organizational structures needed for the operation of a society or enterprise, or the services and facilities necessary for an economy to function. The term typically refers to the technical structures that support a society, such as roads, water supply, sewers, power grids, telecommunications, and so forth. Viewed functionally, infrastructure facilitates the production of goods and services; for example, roads enable the transport of raw materials to a factory, and also for the distribution of finished products to markets. In some contexts, the term may also include basic social services such as schools and hospitals. In military parlance, the term refers to the buildings and permanent installations necessary for the support, redeployment, and operation of military forces.

Whoa – no wonder the City Council was so concerned about the Albertson’s building: it is part of our INFRASTRUCTURE. Gee – I didn’t realize. I wonder what’s in there?

  • I think it’s safe to say it’s not our power grid, or telecommunications. I sure hope not, because if it is then they can’t use my idea to cut off the electricity.
  • Could it be our water supply? No – the water treatment plant is on Marsh, and I can see the water tower over by the Justice Center on Valley View.
  • Roads? Is there a secret freeway in there? Naw – not big enough.
  • Sewer? I think that’s what’s being done in the water treatment plant on Marsh. Unless ……… oh – I hope not.
  • Basic Social Services such as a hospital or school? Surely we would know about that.
  • Oh – what if it’s a secret military installation? Oh – wow. Do you think that’s what it could be?

 

