Okay – Yes, I know it’s not Tuesday, but I got carried away with all the holiday cheer and lost track of the days.  So Twitterpated Tuesday comes on a Wednesday this week. I’ll get back in the groove now. I have sooo much to talk about in the coming weeks and months.

If you’ve followed this blog you may recall an earlier post about “The Park in the City in the Park“. The posting discussed the pocket park on the corner of Valley View and Webb’s Chapel roads – right across VV from the Farmer’s Branch Church of Christ.

At the time I was curious about the little park, but wondered aloud about the lack of a safe place to leave my vehicle while I checked it out. Well, I stumbled upon the following, which does quite a lot to explain our City Council’s priorities.

This post is almost two years old, but still interesting.

“Monday, February 25, 2008

High Profile Intersection: Valley View and Webb Chapel

Hope everyone had a great weekend.
I receive almost daily questions about the soon-to-be-removed house at the Southwest corner of Webb Chapel and Valley View, and what will happen to that lot. The city owns that property, as well as the property at the corner of Nestle and Valley View, and sold the houses to a company that is relocating them. One of this council’s goals is to build upon the great foundation we have in our wonderful parks, and continue to accentuate and improve the aesthetic beauty of our city. We are going to use these lots as landscaped “parks” that further beautify our city, and continue to build our brand as a “city in a park.” These lots won’t be parks in the sense that they are designed to be visited, but instead will showcase landscape features that will be visibile to the tens of thousands of people who drive down our major east-west roadway on a daily basis. It’s exciting, and the type of thing you will see more and more of going forward.
Have a great week!
Tim Scott

by Tim Scott, City Council, Place 1 at 7:09 AM | 0 comments (create)

Ahhhhh – so that’s it: this park, as well as others that may be created, are not intended for human interaction.  As with so many of the recent city “improvements”, they are “Look But Don’t Touch” areas – strictly for appearance.  Apparently the city is doing very well during the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression because we have lots of money for a new logo, new street signs, painting all the big utility boxes with the new logo, adding nice little signs to point us to city buildings, expanding the Christmas light show and building pocket parks. Every single one of these projects looks quite nice, but does nothing at all to help us survive in these tough times. I guess that’s what happens when you live in an upscale community like Farmer’s Branch wants to be. Not quite how I want to spend my money, but …….

Well, back to the matter at hand. The inaccessibility of this park made me wonder if the area should even be called a “Park”, because the definition of Park is:

  • An area of land set aside for public use, as:    
    1.  
      1. A piece of land with few or no buildings within or adjoining a town, maintained for recreational and ornamental purposes.
      2. A landscaped city square.
      3. A large tract of rural land kept in its natural state and usually reserved for the enjoyment and recreation of visitors.

    Okay, okay – I know what you’re thinking: “My my: aren’t you the picky one. This is a POCKET Park, Miss Smarty-Pants.”

    Alright – so I looked up Pocket Park, and found that:

    A pocket park or mini-park is a small park accessible to the general public. In some areas they are called miniparks or vest-pocket parks.

    Whoa – this park does not meet the accessibility standard for “Park” status – no matter what you call it.

    But don’t fret now: I have a great idea.

    The city is not rolling in the dough for nothing, you know: In 2008 – I believe it was in August of 2008; the City Manager was instructed to lay off many city employees. I’m not positive of the number, but somewhere I heard that 28 people got the axe. If someone knows the real number I would appreciate hearing it. Anyway, I was thinking about how lucky the city is to have leadership that was so concerned about how we looked that they were willing to sacrifice  their own people so that “we” could afford to spruce up the streets. And I think we owe these “martyrs” a big Thank You.

    So – here’s my suggestion:

    We should name the new pocket parks after the laid-off city employees! I know – it won’t do anything to make the parks accessible, but at least the city will realize the sacrifices that were made for the good of the community.  If we run out of pocket parks we could rename some of the streets. We’re putting up new signs anyway so it would be easy to assign  new names to the streets. YES!

    What do you think ……. Great Idea isn’t it? If you’ll send me the names of former employees who lost their jobs so we could have pretty streets I’ll see what I can do. Maybe we can even let each one pick the street or park that he or she wants to carry their name.  That’s the least we can do.

    Oh – by the way – Tens of Thousands of people drive down Valley View EVERY DAY??????????? Really?

    If it were only 10,000 that’s like 7 people each and every minute for every minute of the day: 20,000 would be 14 people a minute, and so on and so on.

    • Every minute
    • Around the clock
    • Every day

    Wow – that’s a lot of traffic.

