Someone has questioned my use of the term “Code Enforcement Nazi”, and I’ll have to admit that I too thought long and hard before I used that term. Being of German ancestry myself, and understanding of how sensitive the German people are about the use of this term, I really hesitated to use it.  However, I looked it up in Wikipedia, and found the following:

The term Nazi has become a generic term of abuse in popular culture, as have other Third Reich terms such as Führer (often spelled differently in English-speaking countries). Related terms (such as fascist or Gestapo or Hitler) are sometimes used to describe any people or behaviours that are viewed as thuggish, authoritarian, or extremist. Phrases such as grammar Nazi, feminazi, and parking enforcement Nazi, are sometimes used in the United States, Europe and Latin America. These uses are offensive to some, as indicated by the controversy in the mainstream media over the Seinfeld “Soup Nazi” episode. These types of terms are used frequently enough to inspire Godwin’s Law.

I apologize in advance to anyone who is offended by this term, and I will refrain from using it in the future, although I do believe it fits in this case.

